News and Media


Eligibility Determination Panel members have been announced

Sport Resolutions (SR) has independently appointed the members of the Eligibility Determination Panel (EDP) which will undertake the eligibility determination of candidates for election to the IWF Board and committees in respect of the March 2021 elections.

The Panel is constituted of the following individuals:

• HH Phillip Sycamore CBE (GBR)

• Dr Tanja Haug (GER)

• The Honourable Yves Fortier QC (CAN)

• Susan Ahern (IRL)

• Dr Thomas H. Murray (USA)

The EDP members were drawn from SR’s Panel of Arbitrators at its entire discretion, and were required to complete a declaration of independence prior to any eligibility assessment being undertaken and keep that position under review throughout the process.

His Honour Phillip Sycamore CBE is a retired judge, most recently sitting as Deputy Vice-President of Tribunals, President (First-tier Tribunal Health, Education and Social Care Chamber), and Circuit Judge. He previously chaired the (then) Football League Arbitration Tribunal. His current roles include Senior Judicial Appointments Commissioner and Member of the Queens Council Appointments Panel.

Dr Tanja Haug is a licensed attorney and has a doctorate in sports science. She specialises in sports law, and acts as an arbitrator at the German Court of Arbitration for Sports, among other bodies. For several years, Dr Haug was legal advisor and head of the anti-doping department of the German Athletics Federation, and Chair of the federation’s disciplinary committee. Most recently, she was a member of the International Biathlon Union External Review Commission.

The Honourable Yves Fortier QC is recognised as one of the top arbitrators in the world. He has served as chairman, president, sole arbitrator and co-arbitrator on numerous international and national arbitral tribunals. He previously served as Canada’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York, as well as Canada’s Representative on the Security Council of the UN, prior to being President of the Council. He has also been a member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration at The Hague, President of the LCIA, and served as Chairman of the Sanctions Committee of the World Bank.

Susan Ahern is a qualified practising barrister specialising in arbitration, regulation and sports law. She is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and is a member of the Professional Conduct committees of a number of Irish regulatory bodies. She was the Lead Drafter on the 2020 World Anti-Doping Agency International Standard for Testing & Investigations, was previously Head of Legal and Legislative Affairs at World Rugby, and established the World Rugby Integrity Unit and the first Anti-Corruption Programme for the Ruby World Cup.

Dr. Tom Murray is the President Emeritus of the Hastings Center, an interdisciplinary research institute which addresses social and ethical issues in health care, science, and technology. He serves on many editorial boards and has been president of the Society for Health and Human Values and of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities. Dr. Murray is a member of the World Athletics Disciplinary Tribunal since 2017, and served as Chair of the Ethical Issues Review Panel for WADA between 2004 – 2015. Dr. Murray is the author or editor of several books and more than 250 other publications. His most recent book is Good Sport: Why Our Games Matter — and How Doping Undermines Them, published in 2018.

For future updates, you can visit this webpage.

Source: Sport Resolutions