News and Media


WFA Electoral Congress

The Weightlifting Federation of Africa (WFA) organized its Electoral Congress in Algiers, ALG.

14 Member Federations participated and the IWF was represented by Dr. Tamas Ajan President together with Major Genral Intarat Yodbangtoey Vice President, Mr. Mohammed Hasan Jaloud Executive Board Member and Dr. Fathi Masmoudi Executive Board Member.

Mustapha Berraf, President of National Olympic Committee of Algeria and Maj. Gen. Ahmed Nasser, President of Association of African Sports Confederations also participated on the WFA Electoral Congress.

Before the elections, the Congress unanimously accepted Reports and appreciated presentations made by Attila Adamfi IWF Director General on the new TCRR and 2018 YOG and by Ms. Timea Horvath IWF Development and Education Manager on IWF Development projects and Olympic Solidarity programs.

Hosts of upcoming African Championships were confirmed as follows:

– 2017 African Championships: Vacoas, MRI, 20-27 July 2017
– 2017 Youth and Junior African Championships: Kampala, UGA, 7-14 October 2017
– 2018 Youth and Junior African Championships: Cairo, EGY (date to be confirmed)

The Congress re-elected Mr. Khaled Mhalhel (LBA) as President and Mr. Manareddin Eshelli (LBA) as General Secretary.

Furthermore, the following officials were elected:

First Vice President: Salim Musoke (UGA)
Vice Presidents: Kevin du Plooy (RSA), Abdellaziz Brahimi (ALG), Mahmoud Mahgoub (EGY) and Mustapha Chaouachi (TUN)
Executive Board members: Alex Randriamanarivo (MAD), Ahmed Chahnaoui (MAR) and Chimdi Ejiogu (NGR)
Technical Committee: Abdulbasset Alheddad (LBA), Horst Sayler (SWZ) and Akram Ssempasa (UGA)
Coaching and Research Committee: Constantin Enama (CMR), Armand Pambou (CGO) and Ravi Bhollah (MRI)
Medical Committee: Dr. Mohamed Eraky (EGY), Dr. Christopher Adomakoh (GHA) and Dr. Mohamed Elias Latrech (TUN)

The new Executive Board on its first meeting appointed Pius Ochieng (KEN) and Ben Nunoo Mensah (GHA) as members and appointed Robert Rose (SEY) as member without voting power.

Also the Chairmen of the Committees have been appointed:

Technical Committee: Mahmoud Mahgoub (EGY)
Coaching and Research Committee: Salim Musoke (UGA)
Medical Committee: Kevin Du Plooy (RSA)
Almois Ben Esmaiel (LBA) has been appointed as Deputy General Secretary and Abdulmoneim Riad M. Sufeljin as Financial Director.

Congratulation to all officials!