News and Media


Commonwealth Weightlifting Federation Electoral Congress

On 30 July 2014, the Commonwealth Weightlifting Federation held its Electoral Congress at the Glasgow Caledonia University on the occasion of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

This is the 77th year since its foundation in 1947. 37 nations of the Commonwealth participate in the weightlifting competition here in Glasgow.

During its Congress, the Commonwealth Weightlifting Federation awarded Honorary Membership to Matthew Curtain, Commonwealth Games Federation Director of Sport.

When receiving the recognition, Matthew Curtain said: “My contribution to weightlifting lasts only 28 years and so I’m humbled and overwhelmed by this recognition.”

The CWF’s Trafalgar Trophy is the Men’s Trophy for the Commonwealth Games Men Event and was won for the first time in 1974 by New Zealand.

Andrew Daubney (PNG) donated a Women’s Trophy for the Commonwealth Games Women Event named the Daubney Perpetual Trophy.

The Trophy which is worth 25.000 USD is built in a pyramid shape in 18 karat Gold and it is the mystic symbol of Women which signifies “Wisdom, Courage, and Power”.

It was symbolically presented to Dato Ong Poh Eng and will be awarded at the end of the competition to the Best Female Team.

36 voting countries took part in the election of the CWF.

The President and General Secretary / Treasurer were unanimously elected with no opposition.

President: Dato Ong Poh Eng (MAS)

Secretary General / Treasurer: Paul Coffa (AUS)

Vice Presidents (6):

Kevin J. du Plooy (RSA)
Shri Birendra Prasad Baishya (IND)
Tom Liaw (SIN)
Gary Marshall (NZL)
Hafiz Imran Butt (PAK)
Sir John Dawanincura (PNG)

Executive Board Members (6):

Philip Maunder (AUS)
Jesmond Caruana (MLT)
Dr. Mike Irani (ENG)
Ssenkungu Salim Musoke (UGA)
Andrew B. Callender (BAR)
Mohyuddin Ahmad (BAN)

Assistant Secretary

Trent Dabwido (NRU)

Congratulations to all elected officials!