News and Media


U17 Pan-American Championships Cancun, Mexico

The 9th U17 Pan-American Championships held in Cancun, Mexico from 3-9 September 2013 ended with the participation of 14 countries from North, Central and South America and The Caribbean. It is important to mention that this event gave great opportunity for weightlifting promotion and development to countries such as Guyana, Costa Rica, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

The competition marked the first competition after the YOG Qualification Event in Tashkent, Uzbekistan for the U17 athletes trying to qualify at the 2nd YOG in Nanjing.

The following Pan-American countries are already qualified:

Women: MEX (2), COL (1), ECU (1), VEN (1).

Men: MEX (2), COL (1), VEN (1).

The host city Cancun and the Mexican Weightlifting Federation gave very good hospitality for the participating teams and organized a successful tournament. The city is the most important tourist destination with beautiful beaches and white sand in The Caribbean Sea. The weightlifting events of the Pan-American Championships were held at the Kuxil Baxal Complex.

At the opening Ceremony of the Championships Dr. Rosalio Alvarado, President of the Mexican Weightlifting Federation, thanked all participants for having contributed in the success of these U17 Pan-American Championships in Cancun, Mexico. Mr. David Montero (BRA) IWF Executive Board Member, Mr. Diego German Martinez (COL), IWF Technical Committee Member and Mr. Eddie Suarez (VEZ) General Secretary of the Pan-American Weightlifting Federation also participated in the event.

The Trophy of Best Female athlete of the competition went to CANTU Jennifer (MEX), silver and bronze medallist in the YWWC in Uzbekistan while the Best Male athlete of the competition was CAICEDO Andres (COL).

In the Women’s categories, 1st place was awarded to Mexico, 2nd place went to Colombia while 3rd place to Ecuador. Brazil and Guatemala followed.

In the Men’s categories, 1st place was awarded to Ecuador, 2nd place went to Mexico while 3rd place to Colombia. Guatemala, Brazil and Costa Rica followed.

Click here for more information