News and Media


New grouping for IFs – Weightlifting upgraded

On the occasion of the IOC EB-ASOIF Joint Meeting in St. Petersburg, Russia, the IOC presented the new grouping of the 28 sports federations on the programme of the Summer Olympic Games in Rio 2016.

On the request of the ASOIF, the IOC has conducted a complex study and reevaluated the International Federations to determine the revenue distribution from the Rio 2016 Olympic Games according to the following key criteria: television, internet, general public, spectators, press, universality.

As a confirmation of the great achievements and constant evolution of the International Weightlifting Federation and its solid status in the Olympic Movement, our sport has been upgraded to the third group.

The listing within each group follows the alphabetic order.

New grouping

Group A
Aquatics, athletics, gymnastics

Group B
Basketball, cycling, football, tennis, volleyball

Group C
Archery, badminton, boxing, judo, rowing, shooting, table tennis, weightlifting

Group D
Canoe/kayak, equestrian, fencing, handball, hockey, sailing, taekwondo, triathlon, wrestling

Group E
Modern pentathlon, golf, rugby

Previous grouping

Group A

Group B
Aquatics, basketball, cycling, football, gymnastics, tennis, volleyball

Group C
Equestrian, handball, hockey, rowing

Group D
Archery, badminton, boxing, canoe/kayak, fencing, judo, modern pentathlon, sailing, shooting, table tennis, taekwondo, triathlon, weightlifting, wrestling