News and Media


A new set of Officers took the Oath in Moscow

Delegates from 138 countries completed the election of the Federation’s Officers for 2013-2016 at the IWF Electoral Congress in Moscow today. The Congress Elected the Executives and the Committees.

The delegates voted confidence for another term to Dr. Tamas Ajan (HUN) as President and Ma Wenguang (CHN) as General Secretary. The fruitful work accomplished in the past 4 years by the leading duo will remain until the next electoral period.

Nicu Vlad (ROU) became the First Vice President, while the five Vice Presidents elected are: Intarat Yodbangtoey (THA), Sam Coffa (AUS), Alexander Gerasimenko (RUS), Jose Quinones (PER) and Dato Ong Poh Eng (MAS).

As a historical move for the sport, the first Women Executive Member elected is Moira Lassen (CAN).

The IWF Executive Board serving from today is as follows: Pyrros Dimas (GRE), Birendra Prasad Baishya (IND), Mohammed Jalood (IRQ), Michael Irani (GBR), David Montero (BRA), Christian Baumgartner (GER), Masmoudi Fathi (TUN).

The elected Members of the Technical Committee are:

Reiko Kato Chinen (JPN), Alexander Kurlovich (BLR), Abdullah Al Jarmal (YEM), Shakhrillo Makhmudov (UZB), Steve Cannon (GBR), Diego German Martinez (COL), Aldo Radicello (ITA), Hussein M. Mahmoud Shoukry (EGY), Mohyuddin Ahmad (BAN), Sonny Kasiran (INA).

The elected Members of the Coaching and Research Committee are: Kyle Pierce (USA), David Rigert (RUS), Lyn Jones (AUS), Nippon Limboonsuebsay (THA), Mohamed Ben Amor (TUN), Salih Al-Khalidi (IRQ), Milan Mihajlovic (SRB), Byung-Kwan Chun (KOR), Kamal Mahmoud Mahgoub (EGY), Stefan Korpa (SVK).

The elected Members of the Medical Committee are: Dominik Dörr (GER), Herrick Richard (USA), Dogan Atlihan (TUR), Parameth Ladpli (THA), Wing Yuk Ip (HKG), Lisimoni Kami (TGA), Robert Smigielski (POL), Maria Dolores Rubio (ESP), Carmelo Ciotta (ITA), Alexander Petrov (RUS).

As a conclusion of the Elections all the elected officers took the Oath of Office in a solemn ceremony.

The List of the elected Officers can be found here.