News and Media


Francesco Ricci Bitti elected as ASOIF President and C K Wu elected as ASOIF IOC Executive Board member

International Tennis Federation (ITF) President Francesco Ricci Bitti was the only candidate to put his name forward to become the ASOIF President after Switzerland’s Denis Oswald announced he would step down at the end of the year.

Ricci Bitti was unanimously voted to be the new ASOIF President by the 28 International Federations.

Ordinarily the ASOIF President would also become the IOC Executive Board representative but due to the fact that Ricci Bitti will cease to be a member at the end of the year because he has turned 70, an election was required to nominate another IOC member to the position.

Wu and McQuaid were the only two candidates to come forward by raising their hands.

International Boxing Association (AIBA) President C K Wu has been as nominated to the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board at an election at the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) General Assembly.

The Taiwanese defated defeating Ireland’s International Cycling Union (UCI) President Pat McQuaid by 20 votes to eight.

Both Ricci Bitti and Wu will take up their respective positions in January 2013, when Oswald, the President of the International Rowing Federation, will officially give up his ASOIF Presidency and role on the IOC Executive Board.

Source: insidethegames