News and Media


New leadership of EWF elected

The European Weightlifting Federation held its Electoral Congress on 8th April 2012 in Antalya, Turkey. A record number of delegations (47 out of a membership of 49) were present. The lineup of distinguished guests included IWF President Dr. Tamas Ajan and IWF Executive Board Members representing other continents, like Pan-American President Willian Ozuna, Asian Vice President Maj. Gen, Intarat Yodbangtoey and Boukar Tikire from Africa.

The Congress delegates voted to elect the officials of the European Weightlifting Federation for the next 4-year cycle.
In a close battle with his Romanian colleague Nicu Vlad, Dr. Antonio Urso (ITA) won the right to serve another four years as President.
For the General Secretary’s position between two candidates the majority of votes went to Dr. Hasan Akkus (TUR) as opposed to Dr. Christian Baumgartner (GER).
As the only candidate, Marino Ercolani Casadei (SMR) was elected to EWF Treasurer.
Vice Presidents: Petr Krol (CZE), Emilio Estarlik (ESP), Benny Johansson (SWE), Steve Cannon (GBR), Alexander Kurlovich (BLR)
Executive Board Members: Damianos Hadjidamianou (CYP), Eli Sadres (ISR), Nedelcho Kolev (BUL), Jan Talts (EST), Tryggve Duun (NOR), Esat Ademi (ALB) – with further two members to be elected by the Executive Board.