News and Media


The last competition days in Dongguan

Olympic Gold Medalist in Beijing, Lu Yong (CHN) won first place in the Men’s 85kg bodyweight category at the 16th Asian Games Guangzhou, China with a total of 376kg. Second place went to the Uzbekistanian lifter Mansurbek Chashemov followed by Kim Kwang Hoon (KOR) who ended up third.


In Women’s 69kg, the Olympic Champion Liu Chunhong (CHN) won the gold convincingly by taking the lead both in Snatch and Clean & Jerk. The silver medalist Darmariani Sinta (INA) performed 4kg less (238kg) than her challenger while the bronze went to Wang Ya Jhen (TPE) who managed to lift a Total of 233kg.


Ilya Ilyin (KAZ), Olympic Gold Medalist in 2008 won the gold medal in Men’s 94kg right before Ebrahimi Farbod Kamachali Ashgar (IRI), and Kim Min Jae (KOR).


In Women’s 75kg, Podobedova Svetlana (KAZ) showed her supremacy without being contested and won the gold with a huge margin of 22kg. The Kazakh lifter gifted her team the third weightlifting gold medal at the 16th Asian Games. Second place went to Cao Lei (CHN), Beijing Olympic Champion while Khromova Tatyana (KAZ) settled for the bronze with a Total of 250kg.


During the last day of competition, three A group categories were held in Dongguan Gymnasium.


In Men’s 105kg, the 19 year old Yang Zhe (CHN) stole the limelight by gifting China their first gold medal in this bodyweight category in 12 years! Silver medalist Efremov Ivan lifted a Total of 400kg and ended up the competition right ahead Istomin Sergei (KAZ).


Within Women’s +75kg, where the Korean Olympic Gold Medalist lifter, Jang Mi Ran won the so coveted first place! Second place went to Meng Suping (CHN), silver medalist of the 2010 Antalya World Championships while third place was awarded to the Kazakh Grabovetskaya Mariya.

The last competition of the 16th Asian Games was Men’s SuperHeavy, where the Champion of the 2010 Antalya World Championships Salimikordasiabi Behdad (IRI) managed to keep his leading position until the end. Jeon Sangguen (KOR) got silver and Anoushiravani Sajjad got bronze medal.